News Flash

Home

18 Stories
Posted on: November 25, 2020

Books & Cooks: Pumpkin Spice Latte Cake

pumpkin spice latte cake

We're excited to share our newest video series with you: Books & Cooks! Each month we'll share a favorite recipe from one of our staff, along with a short demonstration on how to make it. With Thanksgiving almost here, what better dessert to start wit...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: October 1, 2020

Birdsong: Preserving the History of Northeast Tarrant County

birdsong announcement

Curated and hosted by the North Richland Hills Library, Birdsong's mission is to collect, preserve, and share historical photos and documents that record our region's story through the lens and voices of its residents. In Birdsong, our c...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: September 24, 2020

Library Awarded Texas Book Festival Grant

TXBF Grants

We are honored to announce that we have been selected to receive a grant from the Texas Book Festival to enhance our collection.

After careful examination of our community needs and our current collection, we will be using the grant funds to increase our e...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: September 10, 2020

The Mid-Cities Teen Book Fest is Going Virtual

MCTBF19-12

We’re excited to announce the Texas State Library & Archives Commission (TSLAC) recently awarded funding to the North Richland Hills Library for the Mid-Cities Teen Book Fest under its Texas Reads grant program. To ensure a safe environment ...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: July 31, 2020

Online Computer Classes for Fall

Creating a spreadsheet in Excel

Our upcoming virtual Job Skills Development series can help you feel more confident in your skills. This series of online classes will allow you to learn job skills from the comfort of your home. With these classes, you’ll be able to strengthen ...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: May 18, 2020

We missed you!

weve missed you

We missed you! We are so happy to share that as of Monday, May 18, the Library is now open!

Currently, our hours are

  •  Monday through Thursday from 10:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
  • Friday and Saturday from 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
  • Th...
Read on...

Home
Posted on: April 30, 2020

Library Services Update

COVID-19 Update

5/18/20 UPDATE:  The Library is open as of Monday, May 18. Currently, our hours are:

  •  Monday through Thursday: 10:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
  • Friday and Saturday: 10:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. 
  • Sunday: Closed

After an ...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: April 2, 2020

Job Skill Development Online Classes

Creating a spreadsheet in Excel

Are you looking to strengthen your skills for getting back into the workplace? Our upcoming virtual Job Skills Development series can help you feel more confident in your skills. This series of online classes will allow you to learn job skills from the co...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: March 13, 2020

Temporary Service Changes in Response to COVID-19

COVID-19-2-800x500-1

In an effort to be proactive in protecting the health and safety of our patrons and staff, we will temporarily be implementing the following service and program changes starting on Friday, March 13:

  • In accordance with recommendations by Tarrant County Publ...
Read on...

Home
Posted on: February 29, 2020

All About Biomes

biomes

Did you know that you can find five different biomes in North Richland Hills? Biomes are an area of the planet categorized by the climate, vegetation, and animal life living in it. There are six major biomes on earth (forest, grassland, freshwater, marine...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: February 17, 2020

What's Hot! Top Titles of January

Top Books January 2020

What’s hot at your library? See what your community is reading and watching! At the end of each month, our staff compiles a list of the most popular fiction books, non-fiction books, and DVDs in the library’s collection. The list inclu...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: January 30, 2020

NRH Library Receives 2019 Achievement of Library Excellence Award

Library Exterior Back Entrance

Your Library has received the 2019 Achievement of Library Excellence Award from the Texas Municipal Library Director’s Association (TMLDA) for the FIFTH consecutive year!

Each year TMLDA confers awards for outstanding contributions to public libr...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: December 8, 2019

Free Business Workshops to Help Launch Your Business

business workshops

Whether your lifelong dream is to own your own business or you're curious about the process of starting a new business, the North Richland Hills Library invites you to join us for the 2020 Clear Vision Business Building Workshop series. These FRE...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: November 15, 2019

Lost and Found in Texas: Stories Discovered in Abandoned Photos

Lost and Found in Texas

Lost & Found in Texas is a collection of salvaged, original photographs that tell little-known, often historically significant stories about people — some born or drawn to live in Texas, some just passing through, and others here only in the hearts of...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: November 4, 2019

Mobile Printing Now Available

Remote Printing

We understand that life is busy, and sometimes you just need something printed quickly. We know your time is valuable, so we’re happy to announce our new printing service for our patrons on the go!

With our new MobilePrint Service™, you can now print remot...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: October 24, 2019

Discontinued Services

Discontinued: Boopsie & Kanopy Services

As good stewards of our citizen's investment in the Library, we recently underwent a review of the return on investment for the vendor services we provide to the community. During this process, we found two services that, unfortunately, showed low communi...

Read on...

Home
Posted on: September 10, 2019

Finding Your Next Great Read is Now Easier Than Ever!

Browsing Bookshelves

Have you ever finished a great book and wanted to find more just like it? Or wanted to help your child find just the right book to read? Your Library offers many great resources for finding your next book, like NoveList Plus, a helpful resource to help re...

Read on...

Get Started with Personalized Reading Suggestions! Home
Posted on: August 12, 2019

2019 Summer Reading Club Report

2019 Summer Reading Club graphic

The Mayor’s Reading Club is a self-paced reading program that helps to foster reading success by encouraging participants to record the length of time they spend reading each day during the summer months. Participating in a summer reading program prevents...

Read on...

Home

News Flash

NRH Reads

18 Stories
Posted on: November 13, 2020

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

news flash (9)

So far away, yet so close, these Young Adult books will take you on adventures near and far with their vivid descriptions and engaging stories. With all of the travel restrictions, I hope one of these books will help satisfy your wanderlust. &...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: October 28, 2020

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

cozy mysteries

Looking for a good mystery to escape into, but want to avoid anything too heavy? An excellent cozy mystery is just the ticket! Cozy mysteries are suspenseful tales characterized by their lack of explicit violence, sex, or profanity. Murders are central to...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: October 9, 2020

9 Chilling Books to Scare You This October

scary books

Craving a good scare? From creepy paranormal stories to the deeply disturbing -- there's something for all horror fans on this chilling list of tales. Warning: some of these books are not for the faint of heart.

The Deep by Alma Katsu

The Deep is a...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: September 29, 2020

Readalikes: Stephen King

stephen king books

Stephen King is often considered a modern king (ha!) of horror. He excels at stories about good vs. evil, supernatural terrors, and even the darkness based in reality. He’s also known for creating very memorable characters. If you’re a fan of his creepy, ...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: August 27, 2020

13 Biographies to Satisfy Your Curiosity

Photo of a girl looking up over her book

Hello! I’m Kandra, the Adult Services Supervisor. I am sometimes curious about other people’s lives especially historical figures and celebrities. I love to read biographies because you can be nosey without anyone knowing you are being...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: August 21, 2020

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

whats hot: august

Curious to see what your community is reading and watching? Well, you’re in luck! We’ve compiled a list of some of the most popular fiction books, non-fiction books, and DVDs in our Library’s collection from the past month. B...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: July 28, 2020

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

CJ Box Read-Alikes

Author C.J. Box is most known for his modern westerns following Joe Pickett, a Game Warden in Wyoming. If you enjoy stories with unlikely heroes, sweeping landscapes, and gripping mysteries waiting to be solved, you may enjoy one of these thrilling storie...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: July 17, 2020

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

news flash (2)

Curious to see what your community is reading and watching? Well, you’re in luck! We’ve compiled a list of the most popular fiction books, non-fiction books, and DVDs in our Library’s collection from the past month. Below are...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 30, 2020

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

summer reads book list

If you’re looking for fun, easy, reads for your summer staycation look no further! Some feature stories as fluffy clouds to float along with while others are juicy stories that will sweep you away. Each of these books offers a great escape for k...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 15, 2020

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Books about dads

This week’s storytime theme is all about dads in celebration of Father’s Day. We’ve got books by famous dads, books about dads, and even books about grandfathers. 

Featured in Storytime

Everything is Mama by Jimmy Fallo...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 11, 2020

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

IMG_3108

Now that our reading of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone has ended, George and Hedwig are left searching for similar books that they could read on their own! Together with the help of Ms. Monica, they’ve come up with a list of boo...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: June 9, 2020

All About Dragons

dragon books

The storytime theme of the week is...Dragons! These picture books feature fun stories and adventures with mythical creatures from folklore of many cultures around the world.

Read It Again

These books were read aloud by Ms. Monica during this week’...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: May 28, 2020

Hidden Gems: Reads You May Have Missed

book pages in a heart

Greetings! I’m Courtney, the Assistant Library Director. So many times we hear or read about popular books that are always on the New York Times bestsellers list, and many great reads get lost in the mix. So here are some suggested titles in fic...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 29, 2020

Top 10 Mystery Books

mysterious woods

Spend the weekend curling up with a cozy mystery or on the edge of your seat with a suspenseful thriller. Kandra has compiled a list of some of the most popular mystery & thriller titles available at your Library. Take a look and let us know what you ...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 21, 2020

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

book with roses

If you are in the mood for love, let us help you count the ways! Here are some of our top romance titles in our OverDrive digital collection. 

1.       The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient Series, #1) by Helen Hoang

This i...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 20, 2020

Zap! Wham! Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens

zap!

I’m back with another round of graphic novels, this time for kids and teens. Graphic novels are engaging for all readers, and are especially great for reluctant readers! Here are a few of my favorite on RBDigital Comics for kids and teens that c...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 10, 2020

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Browsing Comic Books

I am a total comic book and graphic novel nerd. I’ve read them for as long as I’ve been able to read. If you’re a long time fan or new to comics we have digital comics that you can access from anywhere through RBDigital Comic...

Read on...

NRH Reads
Posted on: April 3, 2020

Feel Good Reads

Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Hello everyone, today I’ll be suggesting some lighthearted, heartwarming fiction. During hard times, immersing yourself in a good story can often help. These stories, in particular, have a reputation for being funny, engaging, and touching. Ever...

Read on...

NRH Reads

News Flash