News Flash

NRH Reads

Posted on: September 29, 2020

Readalikes: Stephen King

stephen king books

Stephen King is often considered a modern king (ha!) of horror. He excels at stories about good vs. evil, supernatural terrors, and even the darkness based in reality. He’s also known for creating very memorable characters. If you’re a fan of his creepy, haunting work, and want to know some other authors that are similar, we've got a few you might enjoy.

Joe Hill

Hill writes stories that often deal with main characters who are compelled to face a dark or evil force. They are often based in reality but work in some traditional horror aspects. He writes full novels, short stories, and graphic novels, so there is a good variety to choose from. Oh, and he happens to be Stephen King’s son. In this instance, the apple landed directly next to the tree. 

NOS4a2NOS4A2 - Charlie Manx is a mysterious monster who abducts children to create his own twisted family. When he takes Victoria McQueen’s son, a battle begins between mother and monster. This classic tale of good vs. evil would be great for any who loves fantasy and horror elements with a strong female lead. 

Available in: Print | Audiobook | eBook | eAudiobook




locke and keyLocke & Key  - After the death of their father, the Locke children move into his family home. The house is filled with mysteries, including strange keys that each open a door with strange powers. Along with those mysteries, they have to deal with a dark force with their own motivations. Clearly great for graphic novel fans, Locke & Key is for anyone who loves some family drama and the idea of finding the fantastical in the regular world. 

Available in: Print | RBDigital Comics




Jennifer McMahon

McMahon, who previously visited our Library as part of our Behind the Book series, is a writer of thrillers. She often includes murder and the supernatural as part of her stories, calling to mind King’s love of mixing the seemingly normal and the supernatural or unknown. 

the invitedThe Invited - When a couple buys a property to create their dream home, they get more than they bargain for with the property's dark past. The more they learn the more they notice they may not be alone. This book is great for fans of spooky thrillers, who are not afraid of a dark tone. 

Available in: Print | eBook | eAudiobook




Justin Cronin 

Cronin is an author, who like King, writes character-focused horror stories. He works to create a fully formed world for his stories and examines interpersonal relationships between his characters, all while telling an epic story of survival. 

the passageThe Passage - This is the first book in the Passage series. This apocalyptic novel tells the story of a damaged world that is now having to deal with a virus that transforms people into vampiric creatures. As the human race fights for survival, a young girl is found who may be the key to winning the battle. This novel definitely calls to mind King’s The Stand so if you were a fan of that, make sure to check this out. 

Available in: Print | eBook | eAudiobook




Hopefully, these options will help you continue your reading. If you love horror, these should all be up your alley. And if you’ve never ventured into horror before, maybe you’ll want to take a chance on some spooky stories. Happy Reading!

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in NRH Reads

news flash (9)

Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

Posted on: November 13, 2020
cozy mysteries

Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

Posted on: October 28, 2020
whats hot: august

What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

Posted on: August 21, 2020
CJ Box Read-Alikes

Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

Posted on: July 28, 2020
news flash (2)

What's Hot! Top Titles of July

Posted on: July 17, 2020
summer reads book list

Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

Posted on: June 30, 2020
Books about dads

Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

Posted on: June 15, 2020
IMG_3108

Harry Potter Read-Alikes

Posted on: June 11, 2020
dragon books

All About Dragons

Posted on: June 9, 2020
mysterious woods

Top 10 Mystery Books

Posted on: April 29, 2020
book with roses

10 Romance Novels to Fall For

Posted on: April 21, 2020
Browsing Comic Books

Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

Posted on: April 10, 2020
Woman smiling while reading an ebook

Feel Good Reads

Posted on: April 3, 2020