Find Your Next Book

  1. news flash (9)

    Far Away Adventures for Young Adults

    These Young Adult books will take you on adventures near and far with their vivid descriptions and engaging stories. Read on...
  2. cozy mysteries

    Cozy Mysteries to Curl Up With

    Looking for a good mystery to escape into, but want to avoid anything too heavy? An excellent cozy mystery is just the ticket! Read on...
  3. scary books

    9 Chilling Books to Scare You This October

    Craving a good scare? From creepy paranormal stories to the deeply disturbing -- there's something for all horror fans on this chilling list of tales. Read on...
  4. stephen king books

    Readalikes: Stephen King

    If you’re a fan of the King of Horror's creepy, haunting work, these are just a few authors you might enjoy. Read on...
  5. Photo of a girl looking up over her book

    13 Biographies to Satisfy Your Curiosity

    Biographies are a great way to learn from the experiences of real people. These 13 biographies are some of Kandra's favorites. Read on...
  6. whats hot: august

    What's Hot! Popular Titles of August

    See what your community is reading and watching! Read on...
  7. CJ Box Read-Alikes

    Read-A-Likes: C.J. Box

    These books filled with unlikely heroes, sweeping landscapes, and gripping mysteries are great for fans of C.J. Box's Joe Pickett series. Read on...
  8. news flash (2)

    What's Hot! Top Titles of July

    See what your community is reading and watching! Read on...
  9. summer reads book list

    Easy-Breezy Summer Reads

    13 books to escape with on your next summer staycation! Read on...
  10. Books about dads

    Stories to Celebrate Father's Day

    This week's storytime theme is all about dads in celebration of Father's Day. We've got books by famous dads, books about dads, and even books about grandfathers. Read on...
  11. IMG_3108

    Harry Potter Read-Alikes

    Now that our reading of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone has ended, here are some similar books for you to read on your own! Read on...
  12. dragon books

    All About Dragons

    The storytime theme of the week is...Dragons! These picture books feature fun stories and adventures with these mythical creatures. Read on...
  13. book pages in a heart

    Hidden Gems: Reads You May Have Missed

    We often hear about popular books on the New York Times bestseller list, but many great reads get lost in the mix. Read on...
  14. mysterious woods

    Top 10 Mystery Books

    Spend the weekend curling up with one of these cozy mysteries. Read on...
  15. book with roses

    10 Romance Novels to Fall For

    If you are in the mood for love, let us help you count the ways! Read on...
  16. zap!

    Zap! Wham! Graphic Novels for Kids and Teens

    Graphic novels are engaging for all readers, and are especially great for reluctant readers! Here are a few comics for kids and teens that can be read anywhere. Read on...
  17. Browsing Comic Books

    Bam! Pow!: Great Graphic Novels

    Whether you’re a long time fan or new to comics, these are some great graphic novels for adult readers that you can find online! Read on...
  18. Woman smiling while reading an ebook

    Feel Good Reads

    During hard times, immersing yourself in a good story can often help. These stories, in particular, have a reputation for being funny, engaging, and touching. Read on...
View All
Books.jpg

Discovery Tools

  • NoveList Plus
    This database provides information about genres, fiction and non-fiction authors, author read-alikes.
  • eSequels
    This database is an online guide to adult series fiction. You can search the database by author, title, character, location, subject, and keyword. 
  • New Book Alerts
    Sign up to receive a weekly email newsletter that highlights some of the new items, including new fiction, non-fiction, audiobooks, and movies. 
  • What’s Next 
    Developed by the Kent District Library, this website includes information about series fiction and is searchable by author name, book title, series, or genre.
  • Fantastic Fiction
    Series information and bibliographies for over 40,000 authors and 500,000 books.
  • Online Book Clubs
    Sign up with an email address to receive book excerpts sent directly to your inbox.
grey divider bar

Adult Book Lists


New York Times BestsellerNew York Times Bestseller List

Every week, thousands of diverse selling locations report their actual sales on hundreds of thousands of individual titles and is compiled by the New York Times Book Review. The panel of reporting retailers is comprehensive and reflects sales in tens of thousands of stores of all sizes and demographics across the United States.

Library ReadsLibraryReads

LibraryReads is a monthly nationwide list of adult fiction and non-fiction. Rather than picking “the best” of anything, LibraryReads represents collective favorites–the books library staff loved reading and cannot wait to share. 

Lariat Reading ListTexas Library Association Lariat List

The Lariat Adult Fiction Reading List highlights outstanding fiction published in the current year that is simply a pleasure to read. 

Topaz Reading ListTexas Library Association Topaz List

The Topaz List features nonfiction titles that encourage reading for personal learning and enjoyment.

grey divider bar

Youth Reading Lists

BISD Battle of the BooksBattle of the Books

Birdville ISD elementary librarians develop a primary and intermediate list of books for students to read each year. Students will participate in a district-wide, grade-level competition, called Battle of the Books, demonstrating their knowledge of each book.

Lonestar BooksThe Texas Lone Star List 

The Lone Star reading list is developed by public and school librarians from the Texas Library Association Young Adult Round Table. The purpose of the list is to encourage students in grades 6, 7, or 8 to explore a variety of current books.

Bluebonnet AwardTexas Bluebonnet Books 

Each year, 20 books are chosen for the Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List by the Children's Round Table and Texas Association of School Librarians from the Texas Library Association. Schools and libraries around the state participate in the program, encouraging 3rd, 4th, and 5th-grade students to read a minimum of five books.

Newberry AwardNewbery Award Books

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children